First DUI Offense in Florida
Orlando DUI Attorney
Driving under the influence (DUI) is heavily penalized in Florida. Even if you have a spotless criminal history and driving record, your first DUI conviction could slam you with heavy consequences and extensive legal penalties. Whenever you have been charged with a DUI, you should team up with The Wiseman Law Firm to start preparing a worthwhile case.
For 20 years, Attorney Wiseman has been working within the legal field. He is a former prosecutor, which gives him insight to what the opposing counsel is thinking as your case progresses. Turn his experience and intuition into your advantages by calling 407-420-4647 today.
Penalties for First-Time DUIs in Florida
Convictions for first DUI offenses in Florida often include:
- Six to nine months in jail
- $500 to $2,000 in fines
- Six month to one year license suspension
A first-time DUI conviction will also likely include an ignition interlock device (IID) to be installed on the offender’s vehicle. An IID will not allow a car to be started until the driver has blown into a small breathalyzer and recorded a BAC level under a preset amount, generally 0.08. Monthly taxes are also typically associated with installed IIDs, requiring the convicted individual to pay around $75 a month until it is removed. IIDs are usually installed for six months to one year after the driver’s license is reinstated.
Specifics for DUI Laws in Florida
For the average driver – assuming they are 21 years age or older and are not driving a commercial vehicle – illegal intoxication occurs if they test at 0.08 blood alcohol content (BAC) level or higher. Florida also allows its officers to use their own discretion for DUI arrests. If a person has a BAC under 0.08 but the police officer believes they still posed a danger to other motorists due to the alcohol they had imbibed, they can be arrested and charged for a DUI all the same.
Florida uses a five-year lookback or washout period after someone has been convicted of one DUI. This lookback period is how long the DUI conviction will remain “active” on someone’s criminal record. Active DUIs can influence the next one by further escalating penalties.
Time to Stand Up for Yourself
The criminal justice system has no leniency when it comes to assigning DUI convictions. Rather than allowing just any sort of penalty come your way and strip away your freedoms and privileges, you should call 407-420-4647 to connect with our Orlando DUI lawyer. During a free consultation, we can explain your rights and determine how to best begin your defense.