Although it is illegal to drive while your driver’s license is suspended it is still one of the most common criminal charges in Florida. Driving while license suspended, otherwise known as "DWLS," is considered much more serious than an average traffic ticket.
A suspension of a driver’s license can be a result of a DUI, unpaid traffic tickets, civil judgments, too many traffic tickets, failure to pay child support, and other issues not related to driving. It is important to understand why your driver’s license was suspended. Judges and prosecutors are harder on people who are driving while their license is suspended for DUI.
Depending upon the facts of your case and how you are charged, you may be facing misdemeanor or felony charges. A first degree misdemeanor is punishable by up to 1 year in jail and a $1,000 fine, whereas a 3rd degree felony is punishable up to 5 years in prison and a $5,000 fine. If you have been charged as a habitual traffic offender then you may be subject to a lengthy driver’s license suspension. Make sure you know the penalties for the offenses you are charged with. Contact The Wiseman Law Firm for a free consultation so you can get answers to your questions.
In Florida, do not plead to driving with a suspended driver’s license without talking to an experienced attorney who knows how to aggressively defend these types of charges. If you didn’t know your driver’s license was suspended, you may have been charged incorrectly. Call our law firm and we will help you navigate the complicated DWLS laws.
Whether DWLS was with or without knowledge, you need a dedicated advocate to represent you in court. At The Wiseman Law Firm, we handle each case aggressively and we are available 24/7 for our clients. We will review every aspect of your driving record and formulate a strategy to get the best result possible.
Get a free consultation with The Wiseman Law Firm today and let our experienced suspended license attorney handle your case.