Available 24/7 | Call Now

Se habla Español

Tips to Safeguard Against Theft If on Holiday in Orlando

October 6, 2013
By The Wiseman Law Firm

Under the new proposed law, texting and driving shall be considered illegal and will be classified as a "secondary offense." This means that law enforcement officers cannot use texting while driving as a basis to stop a driver behind the wheel. However, in the event that a driver is pulled over for a “primary offense,” such as speeding, driving under the influence of alcohol, or violating right of way, she or he can be cited for texting while driving. Florida is one of 41 states that have made texting and driving illegal. In addition, Florida has joined four other states in making texting while driving as a “secondary offense” rather than a “primary offense.”


First time offenders faces a $30.00 fine, while a second offense will double to $60.00. In certain circumstances, court fees may apply.

If you would like more information or are in need of aggressive legal representation in a traffic law or criminal law matter, please contact Simon Wiseman at The Wiseman Law Firm. Your first consultation is free of charge, so don't wait!

Related Posts

Can My Conviction be Expunged or My Record Sealed?

Although expungement and sealing of a criminal record are similar, they apply to different circumstances. Expunging Your Record Expungement refers ...

VIEW ARTICLE

Can You Get Arrested for Reckless Driving?

Reckless driving in Florida is a serious traffic offense unlike a speeding ticket or running a red light. It denotes ...

VIEW ARTICLE

Can You Get Arrested for Speeding in Florida?

Generally, a speeding ticket is not a serious enough offense to warrant an arrest, but there are circumstances under which ...

VIEW ARTICLE
Address
Follow Us
Skip to content